Cooking

One Pot Mexican Quinoa

image

So I was looking for creative yummy meals that were a little healthier and more balanced for my family.  I love quinoa but its not something I have made before and never looked into just how easy it was to make.  We love our Mexican food in our house so when I came across this one on Damn Delicious.  I did not follow it completely omitting a couple of the ingredients.

Grab what you need:

  • 1 Tsp EVOO
  • 1 Tbsp Jarred Minced Garlic
  • 1 Can Black Beans (rinsed and strained)
  • 1 Can Fire Roasted Tomatoes
  • 1 Cup Corn or 1 Can of Corn would work too (I use frozen corn)
  • 1 Cup Vegetable Broth
  • 1 Cup Quinoa
  • 1 Tsp Cumin
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 2 Limes
  • 1/2 small bushel of Cilantro finely chopped
  • 1 Avocado cubed
  • Queso Fresco Casero

Put skillet on medium heat and add in EVOO and Garlic.  Cook for a couple minutes.

image

Next add in the black beans, fire roasted tomatoes, corn, vegetable broth, quinoa, cumin and salt/pepper to taste.  Mix thoroughly, cover, bring to a boil then turn down to simmer approximately 20-25 minutes until quinoa turns clear and puffs up.

image

Once cooked top with finely chopped cilantro, cubed avocado and some queso fresco casero.

image

I wasn’t sure if the kids were going to like it so I served it with some tacos topped with cilantro and queso fresco casero.

image

We had leftovers and it was just as good warmed up as it was the first time around – I know this is a meal I will happily make again and again!!  Huge hit ~ with the whole family that doesn’t happen very often when trying out new recipes.

Leave a Reply

