Subscriptions

Ipsy – January Bag

image

January is rocking’ and I just received my January Ipsy bag!! I always look forward to getting these surprises in the mail.  I rarely peek to see what I am getting in my tipsy bags.

Ipsy? What’s That? – Ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription service that provides you with 4-5 products (usually makeup with an occasional beauty product thrown in) for $10/month that are either deluxe sample-sized or full-sized. If you decide to sign up after reading this month, you are welcome to try subscribing via my referral link.

Everyones bag is a little different since you fill out a profile discussing what you like. I am a neutrals girl all the way so anything you see in my bag will go along those lines while someone else may have some more vibrant colors.

Each month you are sent a fun new cosmetic bag that all of your goodies come in – I don’t know about you but I love to have a new cosmetic bag monthly to switch out and throw in some of my fun new items and all of my tried and true ones that are a must to have on the go.

image

I have got to say this is definitely an in your face eye popping bag this month.  Not personally my style or taste but for many it will be.  Lots of color and a good size.  You all know I always test it against my iPhone 6 plus and it fits in the bag its a little tight but taking the bag along could be a fashion statement.

image

First Item:  OFRA Cosmetics Universal Eyebrow Pencil in Brown – It claims to work on all skin tones because the more you apply the brow pencil the darker the color will get! It will also hold stray eyebrow hairs in place. This product can also double as an eyeliner or lip liner pencil.  Not so sure I agree.  I have jet black and very thick eyebrows that I don’t need a pencil for and if I used this pencil it would stick out like a sore thumb.  I personally don’t wear brown lipstick so this won’t work its even too dark for a nude shade in my opinion also I am not a fan of lipliner in general.  So this wasn’t a hit for me, but many others could fall in love with it.  It appears to be a full size at .04 oz and can be found on the OFRA Cosmetics site for $13, IPSY also has a 40% off code:  ipsyofra40 that runs through 2/29/16 when bought from OFRA Cosmetics.

image

Second Item:  theBalm Cosmetics Mr. Write (Now) in Jack B. Bronze (rich bronze) – These pencils deliver the long-lasting color you’ve been looking for, and have built-in sharpeners (twist up) so they are always ready when you are. They have a satin smooth texture.  I am kinda bummed that I got two very similar items that I know I personally won’t use, but am happy with a few upcoming ones!  This is full size at .01 oz and can be found on theBalm site for $17, IPSY also has a 20% off code: ipsy20 that runs through 2/29/16 when bought from theBalm. There are a multitude of other options for purchasing this one.

image

Third Item:  Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion – according to its blurb is formulated with active naturals colloidal oatmeal and rich emollients to lock in moisture for 24 hours and leave skin feeling soft, smooth and naturally healthy looking.  This was a trial size and will be perfect to package with other trial size soaps, shampoos, snacks, etc. so that I can share with those with those that need them.  I have used Aveeno before and was very happy with them and their product I just now use Young Living Lavender Body Lotion instead.  You can buy the trial size at most drugstores and places like Walmart and Target for a couple dollars.

image

Fourth Item:  Hikari Cosmetics Cream Metallic Pigment Shadow in mink – cream-to-powder eyeshadow. The color is highly pigmented and stays true to color all day long. It has a super lightweight feel and goes on extra smooth.  Love the texture and feel of this eyeshadow, it goes on easily and is a great color on.  The eyeshadow case is very eye catching and a fun shape.  This appears to be a full size at .14 oz and runs $13 on the Hikari Cosmetics.  Ipsy has a 30% off coupon to use on the Hikari Cosmetics site that runs through 2/29/16 code: Hikari30

image

Fifth Item:  Beau Gâchis Paris Smudge Brush – you all know I love all types of brushes and this smudge brush is so soft. The shorter bristles allow this brush to pick up the right amount of shadow, allowing you to control how much you want to apply.  It also has an eco friendly wood handle.  Its supposed to be used to help with the smoky eyes but I am not that savvy at make-up (though I like trying new things) to see if it helps with that effect.  However it does a great job with applying shadow!  This runs $12  on the Beau Gâchis site and when ordering directly Ipsy has a 20% off coupon beautifulipster that is good through 2/29/16.

I may have been a bit disappointed int he first couple of items but was thrilled with the other picks and they more then made up for my $10 a month subscription to Ipsy!  I love getting these surprises in my mailbox every month!

Leave a Reply

