Cooking · Essential Oils Recipes

Snickerdoodle Recipe

image

Oh my gosh!! I love, love anything cinnamon whether I am diffusing Thieves, Cinnamon Bark, Christmas Spirit or any Young Living Essential Oils with cinnamon in them or making a snack with some cinnamon in it. I am also addicted to the Starbuck Cinnamon Dolce Lattes. I was thrilled when I was given a recipe for bunuelos (cinnamon crisps)  My favorite cookies by far are Snickerdoodles!!

I have been searching high and love for a recipe that I could use to make them and have them come out soft, a little chewy and just so darn good I couldn’t stop eating them (which of course isn’t a good weigh to be trying to lose weight).  I found a recipe on www.bettycrocker.com that I altered slightly  for this recipe.

  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 stick of butter or margarine, softened
  • 1/2 cup shortening
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 3/4 cups flour
  • 2 teaspoons cream of tartar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 4 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 2 drop of Young Living Cinnamon Bark Essential Oils

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 400ºF.
  2. Mix 1 1/2 cups sugar, the butter, shortening, eggs and drops of cinnamon bark in large bowl or with your stand mixer
  3. Slowly mix in flour, cream of tartar, baking soda and salt until fully combined.
    image
  4. The mixture can be pretty sticky so I popped my KitchenAid stainless steel mixer bowl into the freezer for 5 minutes to let it harden just a bit to make it easier for me to work with it.
  5. Mix 1/2 cup sugar and ground cinnamon in a separate bowl.
  6. Shape dough into small balls about 1 1/4-inched in size.image
  7. Roll balls in cinnamon-sugar mixture. Place 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.image
  8. Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until set. Depends on your oven just keep an eye on them
  9. Remove from cookie sheet to wire rack or some other dish to allow them to cool.
  10. Makes about 2.5 dozen cookies

image

As you can see I didn’t do many modification Young Living Cinnamon Bark Essential Oil and well more sugar and cinnamon to roll the balls in.  I had to make more to roll them in because I ran out of the original recipes amount much quicker.

I plan on playing with the recipe some more and subbing out the flour, shortening and eggs.  Even though Young Living Einkorn Flour is not Gluten Free but has less gluten in it then regular flour so it would be beneficial to follow gluten free leavening ingredients.

11986027_10207653497081173_1361480258_o

They were so yummy everyone in the family enjoyed them ~ even Santa!

Are you wanting to get your Young Living Essential Oils at wholesale or wanting to learn more about Essential Oils? You can find out more information here or to join and get your Premium Starter Kit.

Leave a Reply

