Subscriptions

Ipsy – December Bag

image

So the holidays have me a little behind this year and a little out of keeping up with my blogging. Boys are back at school and I am back at work so trying to get into the rhythm of things and get out of vacation mode!

Ipsy? What’s That? – Ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription service that provides you with 4-5 products (usually makeup with an occasional beauty product thrown in) for $10/month that are either deluxe sample-sized or full-sized. If you decide to sign up after reading this month, you are welcome to try subscribing via my referral link.

Everyones bag is a little different since you fill out a profile discussing what you like. I am a neutrals girl all the way so anything you see in my bag will go along those lines while someone else may have some more vibrant colors.

Each month you are sent a fun new cosmetic bag that all of your goodies come in – I don’t know about you but I love to have a new cosmetic bag monthly to switch out and throw in some of my fun new items and all of my tried and true ones that are a must to have on the go.

image

December’s bag is a pop of eye catching red color perfect for the holidays and to get you into the spirit. I have already dropped it in my purse as my go to make-up bag.  What a great color and fun texture to end 2015.

image

 

First item:  Peony Cosmetics Shadow Trio– three deep, after-dark shades in a nourishing, natural base that keeps it blendable & velvety smooth.   Since it has micronized pigments & healthy kaolin clay it can last up to 8 hours.  Love the neutral colors that match anything I wear. Plus it even has a mirror to use while putting it on, great little touch there! I rarely wear full make-up but when I do my go to is various shades or browns.  Retail for $17.95 on Peony’s website currently Ipsy has a 20% off coupon that you can use on it IPSY20 expires 1/31/2016.

image

Second Item:  Briogeo Curl Charisma Leave-In Creme–  the description describes A finishing crème for curly to wavy hair that hydrates, defines, and de-frizzes your curls.. It’s fortified with frizz-deterring rice amino acids, avocado oil, and nourishing quinoa extract to nurture and enhance the texture of your locks. I have a ton of hair its really thick and wavy I tried using the entire tube and I didn’t notice a difference I would need to use a large quantity of this and what was provided was not enough to really see if it could work.  At $18 for 6 oz. unless it’s a miracle worker I probably wouldn’t buy it on my own. This one was a trial size at .75 oz.  The full size at 6 oz runs $18 at both Sephora and Briogeo’s website but there is a 20% off coupon for Briogeo’s that you can use on it IPSY20 expires 1/31/2016.

image

Third Item:  CoSTUME NATIONAL So Nude Eau de Parfum –the description states with its strong character, So Nude expresses the personality of a self-confident woman, who is not afraid to unveil her essence. I am probably outside of the norm but I am not a fan of perfume or cologne most times it just gives me a headache, makes me nauseous or gets my allergies going. This one smelled nice enough but it is not something I would be wearing. This was a trial size at .17 oz. and I was able to find that it sells in a 1.7 oz size for $55.99 that was sold out on overstock.com, a 30 ml one for $75 on amazon and a 50 ml one for $115 at barneys.com. It was difficult to find any pricing on this one.

image

Fourth Item:  Pacifica Power Of Love Natural Lipstick – Amazingly creamy, highly-pigmented, and naturally moisturizing – this lipstick is packed with all the vitamins and antioxidants your lips crave. Made with coconut oil, shea butter, and vitamin E. 100% Vegan & Cruelty-Free. Since I have a family friend that is vegan I went ahead and shared this one with her for her to try out as she is always looking for vegan and cruelty free make-up and other products. This was a full size lipstick at .07 oz. I found this one at target.com for $9.49 but you can also buy it from the Pacifica website and use the Ipsy coupon poweroflove to get 20% off.

image

Fifth item:  Elizabeth Mott Thank Me Later Eye Shadow Primer.  This silky blend dries transparent and preps your lids for a smooth and even application.  I received a primer last month that also helped refine pores and give that overall matte finish. This one is specifically for the eyes to ensure no lines are in the shadow. It works but personally I would prefer one all over primer for the face versus multiple ones. I like things quick and easy and minimal work. However it was a good pick since I did receive eye shadow this month too so I could use them both together. I received a .17 oz and the full size is .3 oz that sells for $20. There is currently a 30% off coupon THANKIPSY to buy it off elizabethmott.com site it expires 1/31/2016.

This bag wasn’t as good as other bags I have received but I did like the cosmetic bag, lipstick and eye shadow and those three items alone made this worth the cost of $10. This is an amazing way to try out new products without paying full-price in many cases one-two items more than covers the entire cost of the bag so if you only like one or two you are making out on trying them this way.

I have already seen a sneak peek for my January bag and I am excited to get it. I am getting some eye shadow and a blending brush. I am also getting an eyebrow pencil…I have very full and dark eyebrows so I don’t see it getting much use and you all know I loathe eye liner (though the color is pretty)….

Leave a Reply

