Subscriptions

Ipsy – November Bag

image

eeeeepppp….I nearly missed getting this one done before the month was over.  Sorry its been a crazy busy month with the holiday thrown in there and some family visiting.  I may have snuck in some shopping too!

Ipsy? What’s That? – Ipsy is a monthly beauty subscription service that provides you with 4-5 products (usually makeup with an occasional beauty product thrown in) for $10/month that are either deluxe sample-sized or full-sized. If you decide to sign up after reading this month, you are welcome to try subscribing via my referral link.

Everyones bag is a little different since you fill out a profile discussing what you like. I am a neutrals girl all the way so anything you see in my bag will go along those lines while someone else may have some more vibrant colors. Though I did have a nice treat in my first back some dark grey graphite nail polish and it is gorgeous!

Each month you are sent a fun new cosmetic bag that all of your goodies come in – I don’t know about you but I love to have a new cosmetic bag monthly to switch out and throw in some of my fun new items and all of my tried and true ones that are a must to have on the go.

This months bag is a pop of color with a galaxy feel, possible getting ready for the new Star Wars! Its pretty roomy and can even fit my iPhone 6 plus (no judgement I have not upgraded to the 6s).   For those who hate apple sorry we are embedded in apple and I will not change at this point – we love them!

image

First item:  Crown Eye Brush – professional pointed crease brush is perfectly tapered to give you optimum coverage and color in the crease.  The fluffy tip works well for blending multiple colors and it is good for layering color or creating a smokey eye.  Love this brush eye shadow goes on smoothly and its very easy to clean.  I used these type of brushes instead of the ones that come with the eye shadows I also have a smoother, even finish with them.  You can never have too many eye brushes!  Retail for $12.38 but on sale for $4.95 and even shows that it was featured on Ipsy.

image

Second Item:  Jelly Pong Pong Liquid Gossamer –  the description describes it as a lightweight, water-based luminizer that gives skin instant radiance while keeping it moisturized at the same time. Formulated with ultra-fine, light-refracting coated mica pigments in a sheer, soft cream that gives your skin an ethereal, youthful-looking glow. It is also 78% Natural, No Parabens and No Animal By-Products.   Apply to your cheek and brow bones for a perfect highlight.  I wasn’t a huge fan of this it was a little too shimmery for me as well as it was somewhat greasy.  It’s possible the color just didn’t work for my skin tone it was a rose bronze color.  Tried to capture all the information on the back for you to check out.  This one was a trial size as well at 8 ml or .27 oz.  Well I stand corrected it is actually a full size and runs $22.95

image

Third Item:  Figs & Rouge Mattifying Emulsion & Pore Refiner – its refiner provides sheer matte coverage for daily shine control. It helps diminish blemishes & outbreaks with regular daily use. Some notes about it include it helps Refines & Minimizes pores, Controls shine,  Creates a luxurious ‘velvety touch’ effect and Clinically proven ingredients that helps control breakouts & supports clearer complexion.  So it works like a premier with the matte type of finish on your face after use.  I haven’t used it long enough to determine if it truly  helps with a clear completion of minimizing pores but will updated in a couple weeks because I could use some pore refining!!  This was a 15 ml size and I was able to find that it sells in a 30 ml size for $37.20

image

Fourth Item:  Smashbox Cosmetics Full Exposure Mascara -Inspired by the on-set technique of layering a lengthening fiber mascara over a volumizing formula, this new studio-tested mascara exposes your longest, fullest lashes. No clumps, no flakes. Just maximum-impact, scene-stealing lashes.  It states 104% increase in lash volume, 32% increase in lash length, 34-degree increase in lash curl – not sure about all that but we will go with it.  I tried it and I like it and Smashbox always tends to have great products and this is one I have used before.  Honestly I have been blessed with long thick lashes so any increases in lashes means they hit my glasses ~ what a problem to have huh?  My secret….a drop of Young Living lavender in my mascara.  This one runs $9 for a travel size at Macy’s

image

Fifth item:  Absolute New York Nano Liner – this ultra-fine liner features a super slim, tapered felt tip that allows for pin point precision. Experience unprecedented versatility – from subtle definition to the boldest of black.  Water-resistant, fade-resistant, smudge-resistant – Paraben-free, fragrance-free.  Ok so let me start by saying I am terrible with eye liners like horrible with them so I never use them plus they get covered up with my glasses (I know get contacts or get surgery, tried contacts and I have major allergies so it doesn’t work for me and surgery not ready to go there yet….).  So this one went on smooth and it wasn’t kidding about smudge proof and water resistant.  I really liked this one it was a full size at .03 oz and I could find it on amazon for $4.95.

image

Overall I was happy with my Ipsy bag there were a let down with the Jelly Pong Pong Liquid Gossamer but overall this is an amazing way to try out new products without paying full-price in many cases one-two items more than covers the entire cost of the bag so if you only like one or two you are making out on trying them this way.  Now here’s hoping no more mascara because I have gotten quite a bit lately that I have more than enough to last a while!!  Cannot wait to see my sneak peeks for December’s bag any day now.

 

Leave a Reply

