Essential Oils Recipes

~ Let’s Talk Deodorant ~

I don’t know if you have thought about all the harmful toxins you can find in just your deodorant or heck really in most products we buy and use daily.  I have personally taken the challenge to start ridding our home with toxins.  I know that this won’t happen overnight and understand that I may have some setbacks but I want to take charge of my family’s health and wellness.

Recently a friend introduced me to an app called Think Dirty.  It’s a pretty cool app that allows you to scan various cosmetics and personal care products and it provides a dirty meter rating along with detailed information on ingredients.  They are continuously adding products to their catalog so if the item you scan isn’t in their system yet it allows you to provide pictures of the item as well so that they can get it added to their catalog.

To find out more about this app check it out here.

image image

I was really surprised by what this app showed for many of these deodorant ratings. After seeing this I decided to work on new deodorant options because lets face it we all need it and use it daily.  I hated that I felt that I need to scrub my armpits nearly raw in order to get the deodorant off only to turn around and put it back on.  I mean seriously scrub and scrub and scrub to get it off and sometimes that wouldn’t even work.

I understand not everyone is a DIYer and would just prefer to buy something already made so I am going to give you some deodorant options to make using your YL essential oils or to buy.  I have used all of them highlighted below.  This of course doesn’t mean that they will be perfect for everyone but I was happy with all three.  Remember too these are deodorant recipes and not antiperspirants recipes.

Deodorants help with the smell that can be caused by the bacterial breakdown of perspiration.

Antiperspirants affect odor as well as helping to prevent sweating by affecting sweat glands.

Thieves AromaBright Toothpaste:

Don’t laugh but the first one I am going to start with is Thieves AromaBright Toothpaste.  Some friends went on a cruise with Young Living and they came back raving about a new find that they heard about on while on the cruise.  Just take a pea size amount of Thieves AromaBright Toothpaste and rub it on your armpit!!  Amazing, right?

Thieves AromaBright ToothpasteIf you aren’t familiar with Thieves essential oil blend was inspired by the legend of four 15th-century French thieves who formulated a special aromatic combination composed of clove, rosemary, and other botanicals they used while robbing the dead and dying. So whats better than adding this toothpaste to help you stay refreshed and smelling minty.

I tried it and I am in Texas and it worked.  I kept sniffing myself to be sure I wasn’t smelling.  This is a quick and easy way to have some deodorant and toothpaste on hand especially when traveling and you are looking for ways to consolidate what you take.

DIY Solid Deodorant: 

Now I am not going to lie and say that making this deodorant was easy because it was a big mess and I have lots of lessons learned that will hopefully make your experience easier. For those that have made their own lip balm they probably already know all those tip and tricks!!

Deodorant:

  • ½ Cup Coconut Oil
  • ½ Cup Shea Butter
  • ½ Cup Beeswax
  • 1 Tsp Vitamin E
  • 3 Tbsp Baking Soda
  • ½ Cup Cornstarch (or Arrowroot Powder)
  • Deodorant containers – you can buy new ones off Amazon or reuse an old cleaned out one.
  • Young Living Essential Oils of your choice*

Combine Coconut Oil, Shea Butter and Beeswax in a glass bowl (preferably a glass container with a small spout) and set in a small saucepan of water (making a double broiler). Melt until fully liquid and then remove glass bowl from the saucepan. Add in the vitamin E, Baking Soda and Cornstarch mixing with a whisk quickly. It begins to cool and thicken quickly. Add in your Young Living Essential Oils when warm not hot. Then pour and/or scoop into deodorant containers. Let the containers cool all day or overnight with the tops off and you will have your deodorant filled containers. Makes about 5.

*I personally added in 10 drops of Young Living Purification (it just smells fresh), 8 drops of Young Living Tea Tree & Young Living Frankincense (both always good on your skin) and 8 drop of Young Living Lavender to add an added scent.

So I used corn starch instead of Arrowroot Powder because it’s what I had on hand at the house already, I have not tried it with Arrowroot Powder.

DIY Solid Deodorant

Helpful Hints:
It can be messy when getting into the containers, so learn from me. I used a glass bowl but the ingredients start to cool quickly and start to thicken so you need to be fast and ensure you have everything you need to add to it right next to you. If you use a glass container that you can pour from this will help you tremendously with getting it into the deodorant containers.

It works and I have even sat out in the son watching my son play baseball in this heat.  I am continuously checking to ensure no smell and there isn’t any but the natural smell of the deodorant. Personally I have not had any issues with oily residue left on my shirts.

Traditional Deodorant:

So of course I also checked out Young Living’s AromaGuard Meadow Mist Deodorant they also have AromaGuard Mountain Mint Deodorant but I have not had an opportunity to try that one out.  Love it – its hard to describe the smell its unique but in a good way.  My next order I will be buying the Mountain Mint to compare which one I like the smell of better and if either provides a different type of protection.

AromaGuard Deodorant

Coconut Oil with Essential Oils:

We have all heard how great and versatile coconut oil is and it really is you can easily google and find huge lists of uses for it.  Yes this is the coconut oil you can buy in bulk containers from Costco and Sams and I do just that because I use it for cooking, my Young Living Essential Oils recipes.

  • ½ Cup Coconut Oil
  • Young Living Essential Oils of your choice*
  • Mason Jar with Top for storage

In a bowl whip the half a cup of coconut oil with Young Living Essential Oils of your choice some favorites are 5 drops each of Joy and Stress Away.  Once whipped put it in the mason jar and seal.  You will have to use your fingers to put it, but it absorbs quickly.  You can even use the coconut oil by itself without the Young Living Essential Oils but those essential oils have their own benefits and make it smell so good.

Coconut Oil Deodorant

Are you wanting to get your Young Living Essential Oils at wholesale or wanting to learn more about Essential Oils? You can find out more information here or to join and get your Premium Starter Kit.

Leave a Reply

